ResSurge Working Groups Research Focus… Research Group…

Working groups

Translational Surgical Oncology

Working group leader


cand. med. Elena Dahm
Dr. Clemens Franz
cand. med. Justus Gaukel
Melanie Höfler
Dr. Anna-Katharina König
Dr. Lukas Liesenfeld
cand. med. Ella Leugner
Michaela Magenreuter
Dr. Julian Musa
Dr. Nikolai Schleußner
Prof. Dr. Martin Schneider
Maria Thomalla-Starzl
Dr. Franziska Willis
cand. med. Uraz Yasar
Shuai Yuan


P. Radhakrishnan, N. Ruh, J.M. Harnoss, J. Kiss, M. Mollenhauer, A.L. Scherr, L. Platzer, T. Schmidt, K. Podar, J.T. Opferman, J. Weitz, H. Schulze-Bergkamen, B. Koehler, A. Ulrich and M. Schneider. Prolyl hydroxylase 3 attenuates MCL-1-mediated ATP production to suppress the metastatic potential of colorectal cancer cells. Cancer Res 76, 2219-2230 (2016).

J.M. Harnoss, L. Platzer, J. Burhenne, P. Radhakrishnan, J. Cai, M. Strowitzki, J. Weiss, A.S. Ritter, M. Mollenhauer, T. Schmidt, A. Ulrich, W.E. Haefeli and M. Schneider. Prolyl hydroxylase inhibition enhances liver regeneration without induction of tumor growth. Ann Surg 265(4), 782-791 (2017).

M.J. Strowitzki, P. Radhakrishnan, S. Pavicevic, J. Scheer, G. Kimmer, A.S. Ritter, C. Tuffs, C. Volz, F. Vondran, J.M. Harnoss, J. Klose, T. Schmidt and M. Schneider. High hepatic expression of PDK4 improves survival upon multimodal treatment of colorectal liver metastases. Br J Cancer 120(7), 675-688 (2019).

A.N. Holowatyj, B. Gigic; E. Herpel, A. Scalbert, M. Schneider and C.M. Ulrich. Distinct molecular phenotype of sporadic colorectal cancers among young patients based on multi-omics analysis. Gastroenterology 158(4), 1155-1158 (2020).

M.J. Strowitzki, G. Kimmer, J. Wehrmann, A.S. Ritter, P. Radhakrishnan, V.M. Opitz, C. Tuffs, M. Biller, J. Kugler, U. Keppler, J.M. Harnoss, J. Klose, T. Schmidt, A. Blanco, C.T. Taylor and M. Schneider. Inhibition of HIF-prolyl hydroxylases improves healing of intestinal anastomoses. JCI Insight 6 (8), 139191 (2021).

L.F. Liesenfeld, B. Wagner, H.C. Hillebrecht, M. Brune, C. Eckert, J. Klose, T. Schmidt, M.W. Büchler and M. Schneider. HIPEC-induced acute kidney injury: a retrospective clinical study and preclinical model. Ann Surg Oncol 2021 Jul 14 [Epub ahead of print].

PD Dr. Markus Albertsmeier, Department of General, Visceral and Transplantation Surgery, University Hospital of Munich, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU), Munich, Germany.

Dr. Priya Chudasama, Precision Sarcoma Research Group, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) and National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT), Heidelberg, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Fröhling, Division of Translational Medical Oncology, National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) Heidelberg and German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Grünewald, Department of Translational Pediatric Sarcoma Research, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, Germany.

PD Dr. Niels Halama, Department of Translational Immunotherapy, German Cancer Research Centre, Heidelberg.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hartmann, Division of Translational Pathology, Gerhard Domagk Institute of Pathology, University Hospital Münster, Münster, Germany.

Dr. Dominic Helm, Genomics and Proteomics Core Facility, Mass Spectrometry based Protein Analysis Unit, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, Germany.

Dr. Rene Jackstadt, Research Group Cancer Progression and Metastasis at Heidelberg Institute for Stem Cell Technology and Experimental Medicine (HI-STEM) and Division Cancer Progression and Metastasis, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ).

PD Dr. Bruno Köhler, Department of Medical Oncology, National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT), University Hospital Heidelberg, 69120, Heidelberg, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Jeroen Krijgsveld, Division of Proteomics of Stem Cells and Cancer, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, Germany.

Prof. Cormac Taylor, School of Medicine and Conway Institute of Biomolecular & Biomedical Research, University College Dublin, Dublin, Ireland.

Prof. Ben Wielockx, Institute for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, Technische Universität Dresden, Dresden, Germany.