Kliniken & Institute … Institute Zentrum für… Parasitology Unit Research Portugal Lab

Malaria research: Portugal

Group members (from left to right):

Nathália Ferreira Lima, Ph.D. (Postdoc) with her child, nathalia.ferreira-lima(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de

Carolina Andrade (PhD student), carolina.andrade(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de

Sukai Ceesay (PhD student), sukai.ceesay(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de

Silvia Portugal, Ph.D. (group leader), silvia.portugal(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de

Carrie Anderson (technician), carrie.anderson(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de

Lasse Novél (PhD student), lasse.novel(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de 

Usama Dabbas (PhD student), usama.dabbas(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de

up in the tree:

Nikolay Sergeev (HiWi, alumnus)

Hannah van Dijk (MSc student, alumna)

Hannah Fleckenstein (PhD student), hannah.fleckenstein(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de

not in the picture:

Richard Thomson Luque, MD (Postdoc), richard.thomson-luque(at)med.uni-heidelberg.de

Current projects of the Portugal lab

Exploring asymptomatic Plasmodium falciparum: Targeting the dry season reservoir of infection

The project aims to explore the biology of asymptomatic P. falciparum parasites and its interactions with the human host during the dry season that ensure that the parasite is not cleared and can be transmitted in the next transmission season. The main interests are: 1) Compare the properties and function of P. falciparum parasites from asymptomatic individuals during the dry season versus symptomatic individuals during the malaria season; 2) Determine the kinetics of gametocyte carriage throughout the dry season; and 3) scrutinize internal signals and/or environmental cues promoting proliferation and gametocytogenesis when the mosquito vector returns during the rainy season.

DZIF Seminar Series

organized by Silvia Portugal

News - Portugal Group

1 July: Silvia Portugal new Lise Meitner Research Group Leader in Berlin

Silvia Portugal (photo: Max-Planck-Institut für Infektionsbiologie)

On 1 July our group leader Silvia Portugal started her new position at the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology (MPI-IB) in Berlin. Until 31 December she'll continue her projects at Heidelberg University Hospital (UKHD) in collaboration between the MPI-IB and UKHD. We wish Silvia all the best and look forward to a further successful collaboration!

Talk by S. Portugal at Keystone Symposium in Kampala, Uganda (2017)

Watch the short talk on "The silent reservoir of P. falciparum during the dry season" that was held by our group leader Silvia Portugal at the Keystone Symposium "Malaria: From Innovation to Eradication" in Kampala, Uganda (February 2017).

How to get in touch:

Photo: Medienzentrum, UKHD

Silvia Portugal, Ph.D.

Centre for Infectious Diseases, Parasitology Unit
Heidelberg University Hospital 
Im Neuenheimer Feld 324 (office & labs in INF 345)
69120 Heidelberg, Germany

Tel. +49 (0)6221 56-5047 (office) / -5386 (lab) / -6684 & -7812 (staff members)

As of 1 July 2020 Silvia's main place of work is the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin but she'll continue supervision of PhD students and research projects in Heidelberg until December 2020.