Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Hans-Georg Kräusslich

Center spokesperson (Zentrum für Infektiologie)
Head of the Institute (Virologie)
Head of research group (Virologie)


Infektiologie, Virologie

+49 6221 56-5001
+49 6221 56-5003

Scientific background


Call for the position of Scientific Director of the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Braunschweig, Germany (declined)

since 2002

Director of the Hygiene-Institute (since 2009 Department for Infectious Diseases) of the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

since January 2000

Full professor and chairman of the virology division at the Hygiene-Institut of the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

March 1996 – March 1999

Executive Director of the Heinrich-Pette-Institute


Chair of the scientific counsil of the Heinrich-Pette-Institute

May 1995 – December 1999

Full professor and head of the department „Cell Biology and Virology“ at the Heinrich-Pette-Institut für experimentelle Virologie und Immunologie at the Universität Hamburg, Germany


Call for a full professorship (C4) „Virology“ at the Universität Ulm, Germany (declined)


Call for a full professorship (C4) „Molecular Virology“ at the Westfälische Wilhelms Universität Münster, Germany (declined)

July 1993 – April 1995

Head of the department "Viral Immunosuppression" at the DKFZ.

July 1989 – June 1993

Staff scientist and group leader at the research program „Applied tumour virology“ of the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) in Heidelberg, Germany

May 1986 – June 1989

Postdoctoral Research Fellow with E. Wimmer at the Department of Microbiology of the State University of New York at Stony Brook, U.S.A.



Johann Gregor Mendel medal of the Czech Academy of Sciences


Gold medal of Charles University, Prague


Elected Fellow American Academy of Microbiology


Heinz Ansmann Award for AIDS research


Ordre du Merit of Burkina Faso


HMLS Research Award, Heidelberg


Member Heidelberg Academy of Sciences


Faculty medal of Heidelberg University Medical Faculty


Member of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina (National Academy of Sciences)

Professional memberships

Associate Editor PLoS Pathogens

Member and Vice-chairman Scientific Advisory Board, Charles University Prague, Czech Republic

Scientific Advisory Board, Institute of Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry, Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic

Scientific Advisory Board, Center for AIDS Research (CFAR), University of Massachusetts Medical School, Boston, U.S.A.

Scientific Advisory Board, Centre of Molecular Medicine, Cologne, Germany

Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board CHS-Stiftung Heidelberg, Germany

Scientific Advisory Board, Robert-Koch-Foundation, Berlin, Germany


Member „Hochschulrat“ Medizinische Hochschule Hannover (until 2019)


Chairman Scientific Advisory Board Centro Biologia Molecular Severo Ochoa, Madrid, Spain (until 2015)


Editorial Board Virology (until 2013)

2001 – 2007

Chairman of the committee on „Antiviral Therapy“ of the German Society for Virology (GfV)

1996 – 2008

Scientific Advisory Board IZKF-Erlangen, Germany

2002 – 2013

Scientific Advisory Board Georg-Speyer-Haus, Frankfurt, Germany

1994 – 2004

Zentrale Kommission für die Biologische Sicherheit (Biosafety committee appointed by the federal government; ZKBS)

1998 – 2006

DFG senate committee on central questions of molecular biology research (Senatskommission für Grundsatzfragen der Genforschung)

2002 – 2006

Member of the steering committee of the Wilhelm- and Maria Meyenburg-Stiftung

Offices and posts held

since 2019

Chairman of the Executive Board German Center for Infection Research (DZIF)

since 2014

Vice-Dean for Research Medical Faculty Heidelberg; Heidelberg University

since 2014

Speaker of the DFG coordinated research program SFB1129 “Integrative analysis of pathogen replication and spread”

since 2007

Deputy speaker of Heidelberg Molecular Life Sciences Research Council (FoF 1 of Excellence Initiative)

since 2006

Member of the founding directorate BIOQUANT centre for systems biology at Heidelberg University

since 2006

Coordinator of the DFG Excellence Cluster “Cellular Networks” at Heidelberg University

since 2002

Coordinator research focus „Infectious Diseases“ of Heidelberg University Medical School

2015 – 2019

Vice-President Heidelberg Academy of Sciences

2013 – 2018

Chairperson Internal Advisory Board, German Center for Infection Research (DZIF)

2012 – 2018

Coordinator Thematic Translational Unit HIV in German Center for Infectious Diseases Research (DZIF)

2007 – 2014

Academic Director Marsilius-Kolleg, Heidelberg University (Center for Advanced Study, funded through Excellence Inintiative)

2005 – 2012

Coordinator of the DFG central research program „Dynamics of cellular membranes and their exploitation by viruses“

2008 – 2012

Member and deputy speaker of the DFG Fachkollegium (study section)

2002 – 2011

Speaker SFB 544 „Control of tropical infectious diseases“

2002 – 2005

Speaker Research network „Resistance development of human pathogens“ of the Landesstiftung Baden-Württemberg

1997 – 2000

Member of steering committee and coordinator project area A SFB 545: “Molecular mechanisms of genetic diseases“.

1997 – 2000

Deputy speaker BMBF collaborative research grant: “Pathogenesis of Hepatitis C Virus Infection“.

1997 – 1999

Deputy speaker DFG-Forschergruppe: “Intracellular RNA-transport“.

1996 – 1999

Speaker BMBF collaborative research grant: “Development of novel retroviral vectors with enhanced safety for somatic gene therapy “

1994 – 1997

Speaker BMBF collaborative AIDS research grant Heidelberg: “Rational approaches towards therapy and prevention of HIV infection based on structure-function-relationship of viral proteins and RNAs“