zurück zur Startseite
Zentrale Tel.: 06221-560


Head: Prof. Dr. Brigitte Wildemann


President of the German Society of CSF Diagnostics and Clinical Neurochemistry (DGLN)

President of the Poster Committee of the German Society of Neurology (DGN)

Member of the Programme Planning Commission of the German Society of Neurology (DGN)

Contact details:

Neurologische Klinik
Im Neuenheimer Feld 400
69120 Heidelberg

Tel.: +49-6221-567504
Fax: +49-6221-565461

e-mail: Brigitte.Wildemann@med.uni-heidelberg.de




Our research focuses on exploring the mechanisms underlying the pathogenesis of multiple sclerosis (MS), neuromyelitis optica (NMO), and other antibody-mediated autoimmune diseases. As a long-standing member of the BMBF-supported Clinical Competence Network Multiple Sclerosis (KKNMS), we cooperate closely with other national MS centers and take part in multicenter research projects. The Molecular Neuroimmunology Group is associated with the neuroimmunological outpatient clinic, where patients with MS, NMO, myasthenia gravis, autoimmune ataxias, and immune neuropathies are seen on a regular basis and where national and international multicenter clinical trials for MS and other neuroimmunological diseases are coordinated. In addition, our group is in charge of the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) laboratory at the University Hospital Heidelberg and we work on broadening and optimizing the spectrum of diagnostic methods in the field of CSF analysis.


Klinik und Poliklinik für Neurologie, Universitätsklinikum Münster (PD Dr. Lisa Klotz, Prof. Dr. Heinz Wiendl)
Neurologische Klinik, Technische Universität München (Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hemmer, Prof. Dr. Achim Berthele)
Klinik für Neurologie, Heinrich Heine Universität Düsseldorf (Prof. Dr. Orhan Aktas, Prof. Dr. Bernd Kieseier, Prof. Dr. H.P. Hartung)
Institut für klinische Neuroimmunologie, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (Prof. Dr. Tania Kümpfel, Prof. Dr. Reinhard Hohlfeld)
Klinische Neuroimmunologie, NeuroCure Exzellenzcluster, Berlin (Prof. Dr. Friedemann Paul)
Klinik für Neurologie, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin (Dr. Klemens Ruprecht)
Institut für Neuropathologie, Universitätsmedizin Göttingen (Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Brück, PD Dr. Imke Metz)
Department of Neurology, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN (Prof. Brian Weinshenker, MD)
Department of Neurology, Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale, AZ (Prof. Dean Wingerchuk, MD)
Institute of Experimental Immunology, Euroimmun AG, Luebeck (Dr. Kai Fechner, Dr. Lars Komorowski, Prof. Winfried Stöcker)
Hautklinik, Universitätsmedizin Mainz (PD Dr. Helmut Jonuleit)
Abteilung Neuropädiatrie, Universitätsmedizin Göttingen (Prof. Dr. Jutta Gärtner, PD Dr. Peter Huppke)
Neurologische Klinik und Zentrum für klinische Forschung I, Ruhr-Universität Bochum (Prof. Dr. Ingo Kleiter)
Pädiatrische Neurologie, Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg (Dr. Cornelia Bussmann)
Brigham and Women`s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Center for Neurologic Diseases, Boston, USA (Dr. Felipe von Glehn, Weiner laboratory)


BMBF: 01GI0909 - KN-MS, Research Alliance “Understand MS”, AII, “Functional analysis of regulatory T-cells in patients with multiple sclerosis”

Dietmar-Hopp-Stiftung: „Multiple Sklerose bei Kindern und Erwachsenen: Fehldiagnosen und Fehlbehandlung verhindern!"

Dietmar-Hopp-Stiftung: „Neuromyelitis optica: Verhinderung schwerster Behinderung durch frühe und sichere Diagnosestellung“ (Projekt Nr. 23011211)

Gemeinnützige Hertie-Stiftung: „Calcium signaling in T cells: implications for peripheral immune tolerance in patients with multiple sclerosis.” (1.01.1/08/015)

Deutsche José Carreras Leukämie-Stiftung e.V.: „Chemokin-gesteuerte Transmigration regulatorischer T-Zellen ins ZNS von Patienten mit B-Zell Non Hodgkin Lymphomen“ (06/19v)

“Young Investigator Award” der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg für A. Schwarz

“Young Investigator Award” der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg für B. Fritzsching

Gemeinnützige Hertie-Stiftung: „Regulatory T-Cells: Key Mediators of Autoimmunity in Multiple Sclerosis?“ (1.319.110/01/11 and 1.01.1/04/003)


Clinical network projects

KKNMS - German Federal Ministry of Education and Research-funded Competence Network Multiple Sclerosis - http://www.kompetenznetz-multiplesklerose.de/

NEMOS – Neuromyelitis Optica Study Group - http://www.nemos-net.de/

EUSAC – European Susac Study Group - http://www.eusac.net/

FOR2289  - German Research Foundation - Research Group 2289: Calcium Homeostasis in Neuroinflammation und Neurodegeneration - http://www.for2289.de

DGLN – German Society of CSF Analysis and Clinical Neurochemistry - http://www.dgln.de/

[Last changed 28.12.2017]