Kliniken & Institute … Kliniken Kopfklinik (Zentrum) … Augenklinik Forschung International Vision… Clinical trials

Clinical trials

The research centre works in strict accordance with the actual laws and directives on the performance of studies like the "Act on drugs and medical device" (AMG/MPG, German: Arzneimittel- und Medizinproduktegesetz), the "Good Clinical Practice (ICH/GCP)", the "Declaration of Helsinki", a Declaration of the World Medical Association (WMA) about ethic principles for medical research on humans, and according to the DIN EN ISO 9001:2008 (quality management). 

The German Medicines Act (AMG) controls an appropriate supply of medical products to humans and animals, safety in the use of drugs and ensures the quality, efficacy and harmlessness of the medication. (source: AMG § 1)

 

The Medical Devices Act (MPG) controls the handling of medical devices and thereby ensures safety, adequacy and efficiency of the devices as well as the health and the required protection of the patients, operator and third persons. (source: MPG § 2)

 

So far we have performed more than 40 clinical studies (phase II to IV). The following diagram describes the different study phases:

 

 Phase IPhase IIPhase IIIApprovalPhase IV

Pharmaceutical product

Small number of healthy subjectsSmall number of patients    Large number of patientsMonitoring after approval, risk-benefit assessment, recommendation for the dosage
Medical device

Kliniken & Institute ... Kliniken Kopfklinik (Zentrum) ... Augenklinik Forschung International Vision... Studien

Studien

  Phase I Phase II Phase III Zulassung Phase IV
Arzneimittel Kleine Anzahl von gesunden Probanden Kleine Anzahl von Patienten    Große Anzahl von Patienten     Überwachung nach Zulassung, Nutzen-Risiko-Beziehung, Dosis-Empfehlung
Medizinprodukt

 

Das Forschungszentrum arbeitet streng nach den aktuellen Gesetzen und Richtlinien zur Studiendurchführung, wie dem Arzneimittel- und dem Medizinproduktegesetz (AMG/MPG), der "Good Clinical Practice (ICH/GCP)", nach der "Deklaration von Helsinki", eine Deklaration des Weltärztebundes zu Ethischen Grundsätzen für die medizinische Forschung am Menschen, und nach DIN EN ISO 9001:2008 (Qualitätsmanagement). 

Das Arzneimittelgesetz (AMG) regelt im Interesse einer ordnungsgemäßen Arzneimittelversorgung von Mensch und Tier, die Sicherheit im Verkehr mit Arzneimitteln und sorgt insbesondere für die Qualität, Wirksamkeit und Unbedenklichkeit der Arzneimittel. (Quelle AMG § 1)

Das Medizinproduktegesetz (MPG) regelt den Umgang mit Medizinprodukten und sorgt dadurch für die Sicherheit, Eignung und Leistung der Medizinprodukte sowie die Gesundheit und den erforderlichen Schutz der Patienten, Anwender und Dritten. (Quelle: MPG § 2)

Wir haben bisher 40 klinische Studien (Phase II bis IV) durchgeführt, darunter 2 bzw. 4 Zulassungsstudien für die amerikanische "Food and Drug Administration (FDA)" bzw. der "Communauté européenne (CE)", sowie 6 Arzneimittelstudien.

Die folgende Darstellung beschreibt die verschiedenen Studienphasen, die ein Arzneimittel bzw. Medizinprodukt durchläuft.