Kliniken & Institute … Kliniken Center for Psychosocial… Department of Child and… About us Sections Section Translational…

Translational Psychobiology in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Research Topics and Focuses

The research section for "Translational Child and Adolescent Psychiatry" under the direction of Prof. Dr. med. Michael Kaess, exists since August 2015 at the Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. It emerged directly from the former working group "Adolescent Risk Behavior and Self-Harm". Within the framework of experimental studies with a basic scientific orientation, clinical cohort studies and randomized controlled therapy studies, the work of the section focuses on the investigation of the benefit of neurobiological as well as psychological markers in the context of diagnosis and therapy of psychiatric diseases in childhood and adolescence. Findings from this work are to be translated into clinical practice and implemented after critical review in order to optimize psychiatric diagnostics and therapy with regard to their transfer into clinical practice. The section ensures its strongly translational focus through direct cooperation with the in-house Outpatient Clinic for Risk Behavior and Self-Harm (AtR!Sk).

The clinical focus of the research group is research on risky and self-harming behavior (e.g., self-harm, suicidal behavior, pathological Internet consumption) as well as the development of severe mental disorders, such as depression or borderline personality disorder. Concrete projects currently address, among other things, the question of the extent to which risky and self-harming behaviors are suitable as indicators for psychiatric illnesses and which predictors can apply to the chronic course of such behaviors. This also involves the question of the usefulness of these indicators for the early detection of serious mental disorders.  In the field of intervention research, randomized controlled studies are currently underway in the section on both school-based prevention and clinical treatment of risky and self-damaging behavior and its risk factors.

A large number of ongoing research projects also address physiological, endocrinological and neuronal correlates of the development and progression of psychopathological symptoms and neuropsychological misprocessing in central disease patterns in this age group, especially as a result of early childhood trauma. Methodological focuses are the evaluation of the function of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal cortex axis (HHNA), the autonomic nervous system (ANS) and cortical activity by means of blood and saliva analysis as well as non-invasive electrophysiological and photo-optical methods. Accompanying the neurobiological orientation, methods of Ecological Momentary Assessment (EMA), paradigms of experimental psychology (e.g. stress induction, emotion recognition, aggression induction) and genetic as well as epigenetic investigations are applied.

Head of the section

Deputy section head

Dr. sc. hum. Julian Koenig


Team

  • Dr. Vanessa Jantzer
  • Dr. Sabrina Bonnet
  • M. Sc. Patrice van der Venne
  • M. Sc. Sophia Lustig
  • M. Sc. Saskia Höper
  • M. Sc. Leonie Fleck
  • M. Sc. Katharina Williams
  • M. Sc. Regina Richter
  • M. Ed. Stella Hammon
  • M. Sc. Franziska Neumayer
  • M. Sc. Fanny Ossa
  • M. Sc. Franziska Binder
  • M. Sc. Michelle Fetsch
EN

Kliniken & Institute … Kliniken Zentrum für… Klinik für Kinder- und… Über uns Sektionen Sektion Translationale…

Sektion Translationale Psychobiologie

Klinik für Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Die Forschungssektion für "Translationale Psychobiologie in der Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie" unter der Leitung von PD. Dr. med. Michael Kaess, besteht seit August 2015 an der Klinik für Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie. Sie ist direkt aus der früheren Arbeitsgruppe "Risikoverhalten und Selbstverletzung Jugendlicher" hervorgegangen. Im Rahmen von experimentellen Studien mit grundlagenwissenschaftlicher Ausrichtung, klinischen Kohortenstudien und randomisierten kontrollierten Therapiestudien konzentriert sich die Arbeit der Sektion auf die Untersuchung des Nutzens neurobiologischer sowie psychologischer Marker im Kontext von Diagnostik und Therapie psychiatrischer Erkrankungen im Kindes- und Jugendalter. Erkenntnisse aus dieser Arbeit sollen in die klinische Praxis übersetzt und nach kritischer Überprüfung umgesetzt werden, um die psychiatrische Diagnostik und Therapie im Hinblick auf ihren Transfer in die klinische Praxis zu optimieren. Die Sektion sichert ihre stark translationale Ausrichtung durch die direkte Zusammenarbeit mit der hauseigenen Ambulanz für Risikoverhalten und Selbstverletzung (AtR!Sk), die ebenfalls von Prof. Dr. Kaess geleitet wird.

Der klinische Schwerpunkt der Forschungsgruppe liegt auf der Erforschung von Risiko- und selbstschädigendem Verhalten (z.B. Selbstverletzung, suizidales Verhalten, pathologischer Internetkonsum) sowie der Entwicklung schwerer psychischer Störungen wie Depression oder Borderline-Persönlichkeitsstörung. Konkrete Projekte befassen sich derzeit u.a. mit der Frage, inwieweit risikoreiches und selbstschädigendes Verhalten als Indikator für psychiatrische Erkrankungen geeignet ist und welche Prädiktoren für den chronischen Verlauf solcher Verhaltensweisen gelten können. Dabei geht es auch um die Frage, inwieweit diese Indikatoren für die Früherkennung schwerer psychischer Störungen geeignet sind. Viele dieser Fragen stehen daher in engem Zusammenhang mit der hauseigenen Sektion "Persönlichkeitsstörungen", die von Prof. Kaess geleitet wird. Im Bereich der Interventionsforschung laufen derzeit randomisierte kontrollierte Studien in der Sektion sowohl zur schulischen Prävention als auch zur klinischen Behandlung von risikoreichem und selbstschädigendem Verhalten und dessen Risikofaktoren.

Eine große Zahl laufender Forschungsprojekte befasst sich auch mit physiologischen, endokrinologischen und neuronalen Korrelaten der Entwicklung und Progression psychopathologischer Symptome und neuropsychologischer Fehlverarbeitung bei zentralen Krankheitsbildern in dieser Altersgruppe, insbesondere als Folge frühkindlicher Traumata. Methodische Schwerpunkte sind die Evaluation der Funktion der Hypothalamus-Hypophysen-Nebennierenrinden-Achse (HHNA), des autonomen Nervensystems (ANS) und der kortikalen Aktivität mittels Blut- und Speichelanalyse sowie nicht-invasiver elektrophysiologischer und fotooptischer Methoden. Begleitend zur neurobiologischen Orientierung werden Methoden der Ökologischen Momentaufnahme (Ecological Momentary Assessment, EMA), Paradigmen der experimentellen Psychologie (z.B. Stressinduktion, Emotionserkennung, Aggressionsinduktion) und genetische sowie epigenetische Untersuchungen angewandt.

 

Leitung

Stellvertretung

Dr. sc. hum. Julian Koenig


MitarbeiterInnen

  • Dr. Vanessa Jantzer
  • Dr. Sabrina Bonnet
  • M. Sc. Patrice van der Venne
  • M. Sc. Sophia Lustig
  • M. Sc. Saskia Höper
  • M. Sc. Leonie Fleck
  • M. Sc. Katharina Williams
  • M. Sc. Regina Richter
  • M. Ed. Stella Hammon
  • M. Sc. Franziska Neumayer
  • M. Sc. Fanny Ossa
  • M. Sc. Franziska Binder
  • M. Sc. Michelle Fetsch