Kliniken & Institute … Institute Medizinische Biometrie… Medical Biometry Research Arbeitsgruppen Systematic Reviews /…

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analysis

M.Sc. Svenja Seide (Head of the working group)
Prof. Dr. Meinhard Kieser
Tanja Proctor
M.Sc. Johannes Vey
M.Sc. Samuel Zimmermann

The working group "Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analysis" applies and develops statistical methods for evidence synthesis.

Systematic reviews provide an overview over a specific (medical) topic by systematically identifying and compiling results of multiple different research studies. They thus enable medical decision-making along the principles of evidence-based medicine.

Meta-analysis is a quantitative method that allows statistical synthesis of such research results. Applications of meta-analyses are highly diverse and range from the efficacy of specific (medical) interventions such as surgical procedures, drug therapies or diet changes, to diagnostic tools and prognostic models.

The research interest of our working group lies in methods for indirect comparisons, meta-analyses with biomarker subgroups and network meta-analyses with sparse networks. Research projects are often collaborations with other institutes on and off campus. 

Research interests:

  • Meta-Analysis and indirect comparisons for biomarker subgroups
  • Methods for indirect comparisons  
  • Network meta-analysis in sparse networks  

 

Examples for projects in the working group Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analysis

Cooperation with the Network Aging Research (NAR)

Participation in two Systematic Reviews of the Junior Research Group „Effects of physical activity and exercise on motor and cognitive performance in older adults“ with Dr. Schwenk. These systematic reviews and meta-analyses investigate two aspects of healthy aging. The Systematic Review (SR) EArly deals with prevention of infirmity that appears halfway through adult life. For this purpose, various sports and dietary interventions in this population group are searched, systematically processed and statistically summarized. The SR ENSuRE is concerned with whether intervention programs implemented through dietary changes or a specific nutritional program with elderly patients can slow down sarcopenia in old age. 

  • SR EArly (funding through BMBF 2020-2021) on the effect of physical activity and strength, balance ability, and falls in healthy adults aged 40-65 years: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
  • SR ENSuRE (funding through BMBF 2017-2019) to determine the effect of physical training and nutrition interventions on sarcopenia-associated outcomes.

Link: https://www.nar.uni-heidelberg.de/juniorforscher/ng_schwenk/index.html

Surgical Reviews

Participation in Systematic Reviews of the Departement of Surgery of the University Medical Center Heidelberg, including systematic reviews regarding laproscopic and robot-assisted surgery. 

The use of robot-assisted surgery has made high precision operations in confined spaces possible. This development concerns interventions that can be performed in a minimally invasive manner. While the use of more complex robot-assisted surgery is not necessary for all kinds of surgery, it excels in complicated cases where improved mobility and visualization are crucial.

 

In cooperation with the working group "Systematic Reviews" of the Study Center of the German Society of Surgery (SDGC), we offer methodological consultations on statistical aspects of surgical reviews.

External Cooperation

Projects in cooperation with Dr. Ronellenfitsch, University of Halle

  • Ongoing: A systematic review will consider preoperative chemoradiotherapy and preoperative chemotherapy compared with surgery without adjuvant therapy in adenocarcinoma of the esophagus and esophagogastric junction. These three treatment options will be analyzed with regard to their therapeutic success using individual patient data as well as aggregated data together in a network.

Ongoing methodical research:

Publications

Schmidt M. W., Köppinger K.F., Fan C., Kowalewski K.-F., Schmidt L. P., Vey J., Proctor T., Probst P., Bintintan V. V., Müller-Stich B.-P., Nickel F. (2021): From Virtual Reality to the Operating Room in Robotic-assisted Surgery – A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Skill Transfer and Predictability of Skill. BJS Open – accepted

Kowalewski K. F., Seifert L., Ali S., Schmidt M. W., Seide S., Haney C., Tapking C., Shamiyeh A., Kulu Y., Hackert T., MüllerStich B. P., Nickel F. (2021): Functional outcomes after laparoscopic versus robotic-assisted rectal resection: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Surgical Endoscopy,35/1:81-95,2021

Seide S. E., Jensen K., Kieser M. (2021): Utilizing radar graphs in the visualization of simulation and estimation results in network meta-analysis. Research Synthesis Methods,12/1:96-105,2021

Alberts I., Seide S. E., Mingels C., Bohn K. P., Shi K., Zacho H. D., Rominger A., Afshar-Oromieh A. (2021): Comparing the diagnostic performance of radiotracers in recurrent prostate cancer: a systematic review and network meta-analysis. European Journal of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging - accepted

Obermaier M., Zimmermann J. B., Popp E., Weigand M. A., Weiterer S., Dinse-Lambracht A., Muth C.-M., Nußbaum B. L., Gräsner J.-T., Seewald S., Jensen K., Seide S. (2021): Automated mechanical cardiopulmonary resuscitation devices versus manual chest compressions in the treatment of cardiac arrest: Protocol of a systematic review and meta-analysis comparing machine to human. BMJ Open - accepted

Proctor T., Jensen K., Kieser M. (2020): Integrated evaluation of targeted and non-targeted therapies in a network meta-analysis. Biometrical Journal,62/3:777-789,2020

Sammani A., Kayvanpour E., Bosman L. P., Sedaghat-Hamedani F., Proctor T., Gi W.-T., Broezel A., Jensen K., Katus H. A., te Riele A. S., Meder B., Asselbergs F. W. (2020): Predicting sustained ventricular arrhythmias in Dilated Cardiomyopathy: A Meta-Analysis and Systematic Review ESC Heart Failure,7/4:1430-1441,2020

Seide S. E., Jensen K., Kieser M. (2020): A comparison of Bayesian and frequentist methods in random-effects network metaanalysis of binary data. Research Synthesis Methods,11/3:363-378,2020

Altan E., Seide S., Bayram I., Gizzi L., Ertan H., Röhrle O. (2020): A systematic review and meta-analysis on the longitudinal effects of unilateral knee extension exercise on muscle strength. Frontiers in Sports and Active Living,2:518148,2020

Frankenstein L., Seide S., Taeger T., Jensen K., Froehlich H., Clark A. L., Seiz M., Katus H., Nee P., Uhlmann L., Naci H., Atar D. (2020): Relative Efficacy of Spironolactone, Eplerenone, and cAnRenone in Chronic Heart failure. A systematic review and network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Heart Failure

 

 

EN

Kliniken & Institute … Institute Medizinische Biometrie … Forschung Arbeitsgruppen Systematische Reviews,…

Systematische Reviews / Meta-Analysen

Mitarbeiter

M.Sc. Svenja Seide (Leiterin der Arbeitsgruppe)
Prof. Dr. Meinhard Kieser
Tanja Proctor
M.Sc. Johannes Vey
M.Sc. Samuel Zimmermann

Die Arbeitsgruppe "Systematische Reviews / Meta-Analysen" befasst sich mit der Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung metaanalytischer Methoden zur Evidenzsynthese.

Systematische Reviews sind Übersichtsarbeiten, in denen die Ergebnisse verschiedener Forschungsarbeiten systematisch zusammengefasst werden. Sie ermöglichen es so, medizinische Entscheidungen auf dem aktuellen Stand des Wissens nach den Prinzipien der Evidenzbasierten Medizin zu treffen.

Die Meta-Analyse ist ein quantitatives Verfahren, um diese Art von Forschungsergebnissen anschließend mathematisch zusammenzufassen. Die Anwendung ist hierbei sehr vielfältig, so kann die Wirksamkeit spezifischer Interventionen, wie z.B. chirurgischer Eingriffe, medikamentöser Therapien oder von Ernährungsinterventionen, wie auch diagnostische Werkzeuge, prognostische Modelle oder Kombinationstherapien für bestimmte Patientenkohorten meta-analytisch untersucht werden. 

Das Forschungsinteresse der Arbeitsgruppe "Systematische Reviews / Meta-Analysen" liegt in indirekten Vergleichen, Meta-Analysen bestimmter Biomarker-Subgruppen, sowie der Netzwerk-Meta-Analyse in spärlichen besetzten Netzwerken. Forschungsprojekte werden oft in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Instituten oder Kliniken auf und außerhalb des Campus des Universitätsklinikums Heidelberg durchgeführt. 

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Meta-Analysen und indirekte Vergleiche bei Biomarker-Subgruppen
  • Methoden für Indirekte Vergleiche
  • Netzwerk Meta-Analysen bei spärlich besetzten Netzwerken

 

Beispielprojekte der AG Systematische Reviews / Meta-Analysen

Kooperationen mit dem Netzwerk AlternsfoRschung (NAR)

Beteiligung an Systematischen Reviews der Nachwuchsgruppe „Bewegung, körperliche Leistung und Gesundheit in der zweiten Lebenshälfte“ von Herrn Dr. Schwenk. In diesen Systematischen Reviews und Meta-Analysen werden zwei Aspekte des gesunden Alterns untersucht. Der Systematische Review (SR) EArly befasst sich mit Präventionsmöglichkeiten von Altersschwäche, die in der mittleren Lebensphase stattfinden. Dafür werden verschiedene Sport- und Ernährungsinterventionen in dieser Bevölkerungsgruppe gesucht, systematisch aufbereitet und statistisch zusammengefasst. Der SR ENSuRE dagegen beschäftigt sich damit, ob Interventionsprogramme, die durch eine Ernährungsumstellung oder ein spezifisches Ernährungsprogramm mit betagten Patienten durchgeführt werden, den Muskelschwund im Alter aufhalten können. 

  • SR EArly (Förderung BMBF 2020-2021) zum Effekt von körperlicher Aktivität und Kraft, Gleichgewichtsfähigkeit und Stürzen bei gesunden Erwachsenen zwischen 40 und 65 Jahren: eine systematische Übersichtsarbeit und Meta-Analyse
  • SR ENSuRE (Förderung BMBF 2017-2019) zur Bestimmung des Effekts von körperlichen Trainings- und Ernährungsinterventionen auf Sarkopenie-assoziierte Endpunkte.

Link: https://www.nar.uni-heidelberg.de/juniorforscher/ng_schwenk/index.html

Chirurgische Reviews

Beteiligung an Systematischen Reviews der Chirurgie Heidelberg unter anderem zur laparoskopischen und Roboter-unterstützten Chirurgie.  

Seit einiger Zeit ermöglicht der Einsatz von Roboter-unterstützter Chirurgie ein besonders exaktes operieren auf engstem Raum. Diese Entwicklung betrifft Eingriffe, die minimal-invasiv durchgeführt werden können. Grundsätzlich ist der Einsatz der aufwendigeren Roboter-unterstützter Chirurgie nicht bei allen Operationen nötig, gerade in komplexeren Fällen ist der Vorteil aber eine extreme Beweglichkeit und gute Visualisierung. Mit Hilfe von systematischen Übersichtsarbeiten können unterschiedliche Aspekte evidenzbasiert aufgearbeitet werden.

  • Laufend: SR Robotic (Dr. Schmidt): Inhalt dieser systematischen Untersuchung ist die Frage nach der Übertragbarkeit von chirurgischen Fertigkeiten zwischen unterschiedlichen Trainings- und Operationsmethoden. Ein Untersuchungsgegenstand ist, ob chirurgische Fähigkeiten, die anhand von Virtuell Reality Simulatoren erlernt wurden, in den Operationssaal übertragen werden können.
    Schmidt M. W., Köppinger K.F., Fan C., Kowalewski K.-F., Schmidt L. P., Vey J., Proctor T., Probst P., Bintintan V. V., Müller-Stich B.-P., Nickel F. (2021): From Virtual Reality to the Operating Room in Robotic-assisted Surgery – A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Skill Transfer and Predictability of Skill. BJS Open (akzeptiert)
  • Laufend: SR Robotic II (Dr. Schmidt): In einem Folge-Review soll nun untersucht werden, ob generelle chirurgische und/oder laparoskopische Fähigkeiten und Erfahrung dazu beitragen, dass das Roboter-unterstützte Operationsverfahren schneller erlernt und besser ausgeführt wird. Das Ziel dieser systematischen Untersuchung ist das Training für die Roboter-unterstützte Chirurgie möglichst effizient zu gestalten.
  • Abgeschlossen: SR ROCobotic (Dr. Kowalewski): In dieser systematischen Untersuchung wurden funktionelle Endpunkte in Patienten mit Darmkrebs verglichen, bei denen entweder eine laproskopische oder eine roboter-unterstützte Operation zur Teilresektion des Rektums durchgeführt wurde.
    Kowalewski K. F., Seifert L., Ali S., Schmidt M. W., Seide S., Haney C., Tapking C., Shamiyeh A., Kulu Y., Hackert T., MüllerStich B. P., Nickel F. (2021): Functional outcomes after laparoscopic versus robotic-assisted rectal resection: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Surgical Endoscopy,35/1:81-95,2021

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Arbeitsgruppe „Systematic Reviews“ des Studienzentrum der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Chirurgie (SDGC) erfolgen außerdem methodische Beratungen zu statistischen Aspekten von chirurgischen Reviews.

Externe Kooperation

Projekt mit Herrn Dr. Ronellenfitsch, Uni Halle

  • Laufend: In einer Systematischen Übersichtsarbeit soll beim Adenokarzinom des Ösophagus und des ösophagogastrischen Übergangs die präoperative Chemoradiotherapie sowie die präoperative Chemotherapie im Vergleich zur Operation ohne adjuvante Therapie betrachtet werden. Diese drei Behandlungsoptionen werden hinsichtlich ihres Therapieerfolgs anhand von individuellen Patientendaten sowie aggregierten Daten gemeinsam in einem Netzwerk analysiert.

Laufende methodische Projekte

Publikationen

Schmidt M. W., Köppinger K.F., Fan C., Kowalewski K.-F., Schmidt L. P., Vey J., Proctor T., Probst P., Bintintan V. V., Müller-Stich B.-P., Nickel F. (2021): From Virtual Reality to the Operating Room in Robotic-assisted Surgery – A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Skill Transfer and Predictability of Skill. BJS Open – akzeptiert

Kowalewski K. F., Seifert L., Ali S., Schmidt M. W., Seide S., Haney C., Tapking C., Shamiyeh A., Kulu Y., Hackert T., MüllerStich B. P., Nickel F. (2021): Functional outcomes after laparoscopic versus robotic-assisted rectal resection: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Surgical Endoscopy,35/1:81-95,2021

Seide S. E., Jensen K., Kieser M. (2021): Utilizing radar graphs in the visualization of simulation and estimation results in network meta-analysis. Research Synthesis Methods,12/1:96-105,2021

Alberts I., Seide S. E., Mingels C., Bohn K. P., Shi K., Zacho H. D., Rominger A., Afshar-Oromieh A. (2021): Comparing the diagnostic performance of radiotracers in recurrent prostate cancer: a systematic review and network meta-analysis. European Journal of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging - akzeptiert

Obermaier M., Zimmermann J. B., Popp E., Weigand M. A., Weiterer S., Dinse-Lambracht A., Muth C.-M., Nußbaum B. L., Gräsner J.-T., Seewald S., Jensen K., Seide S. (2021): Automated mechanical cardiopulmonary resuscitation devices versus manual chest compressions in the treatment of cardiac arrest: Protocol of a systematic review and meta-analysis comparing machine to human. BMJ Open - akzeptiert

Proctor T., Jensen K., Kieser M. (2020): Integrated evaluation of targeted and non-targeted therapies in a network meta-analysis. Biometrical Journal,62/3:777-789,2020

Sammani A., Kayvanpour E., Bosman L. P., Sedaghat-Hamedani F., Proctor T., Gi W.-T., Broezel A., Jensen K., Katus H. A., te Riele A. S., Meder B., Asselbergs F. W. (2020): Predicting sustained ventricular arrhythmias in Dilated Cardiomyopathy: A Meta-Analysis and Systematic Review ESC Heart Failure,7/4:1430-1441,2020

Seide S. E., Jensen K., Kieser M. (2020): A comparison of Bayesian and frequentist methods in random-effects network metaanalysis of binary data. Research Synthesis Methods,11/3:363-378,2020

Altan E., Seide S., Bayram I., Gizzi L., Ertan H., Röhrle O. (2020): A systematic review and meta-analysis on the longitudinal effects of unilateral knee extension exercise on muscle strength. Frontiers in Sports and Active Living,2:518148,2020

Frankenstein L., Seide S., Taeger T., Jensen K., Froehlich H., Clark A. L., Seiz M., Katus H., Nee P., Uhlmann L., Naci H., Atar D. (2020): Relative Efficacy of Spironolactone, Eplerenone, and cAnRenone in Chronic Heart failure. A systematic review and network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Heart Failure

 

 

DE