Kliniken & Institute … Kliniken Center for Psychosocial… Department of General… Research Workgroup Personality…

Working Group Personality Disorders



Main topics

Social interactions in personality disorders

Our goal is to investigate the neurobiological and psychological basis of social interaction disorders, as these are a central feature of various personality disorders. On the one hand, we are interested in basal psychological functions such as social cognitive capacities, emotional regulation and emotional impulse control in order to gain a better understanding of maladaptive social behavior such as social avoidance or aggressiveness. To this end, we pursue a translational approach that combines multimodal imaging (MRI) and neuropeptides with phenomenological psychopathology and developmental psychology in experimental paradigms. In addition to a better understanding of the underlying mechanisms, this line of research aims at the development and establishment of new diagnostic tools and individualized therapeutic interventions. To this end, we conduct randomized controlled psychotherapy studies and pharmacological intervention studies.

Influence of traumatic childhood experiences on social cognition and interactions

Traumatic childhood experiences such as abuse or neglect before the age of 18 can have not only immediate but also massive long-term consequences for those affected. Among other things, they increased the risk of becoming mentally ill at some point in life. In our research group we investigate the effects of traumatic childhood experiences on the processing and perception of interpersonal information. On the one hand, we aim to identify and explain disorder-spanning and specific trauma-associated changes in social cognition. On the other hand, we investigate the effects of traumatic childhood experiences on the relationship with one's own children. In addition to a better understanding of the underlying neurobiological correlates, we develop and test new therapeutic interventions to improve the parent-child relationship and thus contribute to the prevention of mental illness in the next generation.

 

Methodical focus
  • Structural and functional magnetic resonance imaging
  • Psychoneuroendocrinology
  • Psychophysiology (electrodermal activity, electrocardiography, electromyography)
  • Neurophysiology (electroencephalography, event related potentials)
  • Eyetracking
  • Experimental Psychopathology
  • Phenomenology
  • Neuropsychology

 

 

Team

Research Group Leaders

Research Fellows

Publications

List of publications

Current studies

  1. UBICA-2: Understanding and Breaking the Intergenerational Cycle of Abuse in Families enrolled in Routine Mental Health and Welfare Services
  2. Transdiagnostic and disorder-specific alterations in social-cognitive functional domains in highly comorbid psychiatric disorders associated with trauma in childhood and adolescence (GRK 2350: Studie C1)
  3. Modular psychotherapy for patients with comorbid depression and a history of early traumata
  4. Central oxytocin effects in acute and chronic pain (SFB1158 (Studie B02)
  5. Hypersensitivity to Social Threat, Anger and Aggression in Borderline Personality Disorder II
    more information
  6. Biobehavioral mechanisms of reactive aggression in borderline personality disorder: validation and pharmacological modulation
    more information
  7. Neural Mechanisms of Moral Action
  8. Neuronal and hormonal mechanisms in the mother-child relationship in borderline personality disorder
EN

Kliniken & Institute … Kliniken Zentrum für… Klinik für Allgemeine… Forschung AG…

AG Persönlichkeitsstörungen



Schwerpunkte

Soziale Interaktionen bei Persönlichkeitsstörungen

Unser Ziel besteht in der Untersuchung neurobiologischer und psychologischer Grundlagen sozialer Interaktionsstörungen, da diese ein zentrales Merkmal verschiedener Persönlichkeitsstörungen darstellen. Dabei interessieren wir uns einerseits für basale psychologische Funktionen wie sozial kognitive Kapazitäten, Emotionsregulation und emotionale Impulskontrolle, um ein besseres Verständnis maladaptiver sozialer Verhaltensweisen wie etwa sozialer Vermeidung oder Aggressivität zu erlangen. Hierfür verfolgen wir einen translationalen Ansatz, der multimodale Bildgebung (MRT) und Neuropeptide mit phänomenologischer Psychopathologie und Entwicklungspsychologischen Fragestellungen in experimentellen Paradigmen verknüpft. Neben einem besseren Verständnis der zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen zielt dieser Forschungslinie auf die Entwicklung und Etablierung neuer diagnostischer Instrumente und individualisierter therapeutischer Interventionen ab. Hierfür führen wir unter anderem randomisiert-kontrollierte Psychotherapiestudien und pharmakologische Interventionsstudien durch.

Einfluss traumatischer Kindheitserlebnisse auf soziale Kognitionen und Interaktionen

Traumatische Kindheitserlebnisse wie Missbrauch oder Vernachlässigung vor dem 18. Lebensjahr können nicht nur unmittelbare sondern auch massive langfristige Konsequenzen für Betroffene haben. Sie erhöhten unter anderem das Risiko, irgendwann im Leben psychisch zu erkranken. In unserer Arbeitsgruppe untersuchen wir die Auswirkungen von traumatischen Kindheitserlebnissen auf die Verarbeitung und Wahrnehmung zwischenmenschlicher Informationen. Einerseits geht es darum, störungsübergreifende und –spezifische traumaassoziierte Veränderungen im Bereich sozialer Kognitionen festzustellen und zu erklären. Andererseits untersuchen wir die Auswirkungen von traumatischen Kindheitserlebnissen auf die Beziehung zu eigenen Kindern. Neben einem besseren Verständnis der zugrundeliegenden neurobiologischen Korrelate entwickeln und testen wir neue therapeutische Interventionen zur Verbesserung der Eltern-Kind-Beziehung und leisten damit einen Beitrag zur Prävention psychischer Erkrankungen in der nächsten Generation.

Methodische Schwerpunkte
  • Strukturelle und funktionelle Magnetresonanztomographie
  • Psychoneuroendokrinology
  • Psychophysiologie (Elektrodermale Aktivität, Elektrokardiographie, Elektromyographie)
  • Neurophysiologie (Elektroenzephalographie, Ereigniskorrelierte Potentiale)
  • Eyetracking
  • Experimentelle Psychopathologie
  • Phänomenologie
  • Neuropsychologie

 

 

Team

Arbeitsgruppenleiter/-innen

Wiss. Mitarbeiter/-innen

Publikationen

Publikationsliste

Aktuelle Studien

  1. UBICA-2: Understanding and Breaking the Intergenerational Cycle of Abuse in Families enrolled in Routine Mental Health and Welfare Services
  2. Störungsübergreifende und störungsspezifische Veränderungen in sozial-kognitiven Funktionsdomänen bei hoch komorbiden psychiatrischen Störungen im Zusammenhang mit Traumatisierungen im Kindes- und Jugendalter; (GRK 2350 Studie C1)
  3. Zentrale Oxytocin-Effekte bei akutem und chronischem Schmerz (SFB1158 (Studie B02)
    Weitere Informationen
  4. Modulare Psychotherapie bei komorbiden depressiven Störungen und früher Traumatisierung
  5. Neuronale Mechanismen moralischen Handelns
  6. Neuronale und hormonelle Mechanismen in der Mutter-Kind-Beziehung bei der Borderline-Persönlichkeitsstörung
  7. Hypersensibilität gegenüber sozialer Bedrohung, Ärger und Aggression bei der Borderline Persönlichkeitsstörung – II
    Weitere Informationen
  8. Biobehaviorale Mechanismen reaktiver Aggression bei der Borderline Persönlichkeitsstörung: Validierung und pharmakologische Modulation
    Weitere Informationen
DE