Institute for Medical… 1. Heidelberg Spring…

1st Heidelberg Spring Symposium on Medical Informatics

In medicine, information systems are an important basis for excellent patient care and research. Digital medicine can only be successfully implemented if very good information systems are available. Today, however, efficient use is often still hampered by insufficient high-quality structured data. In 2021, the Institute for Medical Informatics (IMI) was founded at Heidelberg University Hospital. The research focus of the institute is information systems in medicine, especially the topic of structured patient data. We would like to promote scientific exchange in the German-speaking world on this topic and therefore cordially invite you to the 1st Heidelberg Spring Symposium on Medical Informatics. The main topic of the event will be information systems for the digitalization of medicine, in detail:

Medical Information Systems

  • Design: Metadata, structured patient data, data models with semantics, interoperability
  • Implementation: quality assured software development, clinical decision support (CDS)
  • Clinical benefits of digitization

Research compatible information systems

  • Study databases
  • ETL, EDC and data quality

Patient-centered applications

  • DiGA
  • Patient benefits of apps


The event will take place on 17.05.2023 from 12.00 - 16.00 as a hybrid event in the Marsilius-Arkaden at Heidelberg University Hospital. Please submit abstracts (max. 350 words, max. 5 references) in German or English to mi-symposium(at) by 31.01.2023. Of particular interest are contributions on new informatics approaches with medical relevance. The decision on acceptance of your abstract will be made by March 15, 2023, and the best contribution will be awarded a prize at the symposium. Registration to participate in the event (limited attendance in presence or online) is open until 15.04.2023.

We look forward to your active participation in this symposium!



Scientific Committee:

Prof. Dr. Martin Dugas, Heidelberg (Chair)

Prof. Dr. Petra Knaup-Gregori, Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Michael Marschollek, Hanover, Germany

Prof. Dr. Fabian Prasser, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sax, Göttingen

Prof. Dr. Julian Varghese, Münster

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Pryss, Würzburg

Prof. Dr. Carsten Müller-Tidow, Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Christoph Michalski, Ulm

Prof. Dr. Markus Wallwiener, Heidelberg

PD Dr. Jan Larmann, Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Walter-Emil Haefeli, Heidelberg